Added responsibilities

I don’t usually blog or write about work related stuff. I try to keep my work life and personal life separated. But lately, I have come to a point where I just had to mention something about it. Recently, I have been delegated to additional tasks and responsibilities in and around the office as well as the lab. That is all fine and dandy. But the main issue is when I am suddenly thrust into these added responsibilities without any advanced warning or preparation. All of a sudden, I am tasked into doing something I have completely no experience in and expected to do it as if I have done it my whole life.

It’s a little bit annoying honestly. Given time to slowly learn the stuff that I need to do, and slowly slip into the responsibility until I know I am fully ready is a much better alternative. But sometimes you are simply given a bad hand, and now you have not much choice but deal with it as professionally as possible. Now I need to constantly remind myself of the priorities in the office, doing the things that are the most important first. At the same time, I need to find ways to change my circumstances so that I can better cope with the change. Things that are within my powers to change, I will change it for the better, while at the same time try not to fret about the things you cannot change.

Change is scary, especially when it comes all of a sudden. I think, the next 2 to 3 weeks is going to be rough, but I am certain I am going to get through this mini crisis. Don’t worry, I am not alone in this, and I have the support of my colleagues who I am sure will be more than willing to see me get through the worst.

Leave a Reply

