The new Dell Monitor just screams with perfection

The new U2312HM Dell monitor that I bought during Comex Show at Suntec City just screams with perfection. The size, the design and the display screen is just oozing with perfection and performance.

At SGD269, which is about SGD30 less than the listed price on Dell website, and comes with a free wireless mouse is in my opinion a great buy. I was using a 19 inch 1440 x 900 LG monitor for several years and this new monitor is definitely a HUGE step up in terms of size and quality. I am glad to have made the decision to buy this monitor. Its perfect for my use. It’s huge enough but not overly huge that would potentially burn my eyeballs out and considering that this is a premium IPS panel, for the price mentioned, I think its a great purchase for many years to come.

This 1920 x 1080 panel is 16:9 which is wider than what I am used to. So it will definitely take some time for me to get used to it, especially with the extra real estate on the screen. It comes in at around 100 ppi, which is definitely not Retina display, but on par with all good panels out there. After doing some simple calibration on the monitor, the colour  reproduction and wide angle viewing is just really great for watching movies. I had a Tintin movie on 1080p and it was such a joy watching it on my new panel.

Quality wise, it’s a solid monitor. The flexibility in making height adjustments to the screen and the smoothness of the hinge to allow it to rotate just demonstrate the solid built quality of this monitor. The model also comes with 4 USB ports, 2 of which are on the left side of the panel on top of multiple inputs available. DVI, VGA, and Displayport. So far, I noticed no dead pixels and there is a 5-year premium panel guarantee. Which is cool.

Im also revamping the way I’m using my PC. Im using my Macbook Air as a desktop replacement. Which means that while I have the mobility and flexibility of doing work away from home using my notebook, I can also connect my Air to my new monitor and use it just like any other desktop, complete with a keyboard and a mouse. I have never tried this kind of arrangement before, so it will be interesting to see how my routine changes from here, how my usage of my Air would be affect at how I actually use it as a desktop and vice versa. I see myself needing a notebook for my work now and in the future, so the mobility is an added bonus here. At the same time, I don’t really want to change how I use my computer at home, which is with a proper keyboard, mouse and a good computer monitor. So far I have been adjusting to the change and switching from notebook to desktop have been smooth and effortless. And the current gen of Airs is powerful enough to serve my desktop needs. I ain’t no artist or designer that required me to use Photoshop or 3D editing programs. Just the usual, browser, mail, music, and the usual suite of Microsoft and Apple productivity softwares are just basically 90% of what I do on my computer.

I foresee using this new monitor for many years to come, at least until the 5-year warrantee expires. Dell, you better not disappoint me!

Leave a Reply

